Chicago Blackhawks wins Stanley Cup 2010

Chicago Blackhawks wins 2010 Stanley CupWestern Conference champion Chicago Blackhawks wins 2010 Stanley Cup, beating the Philadelphia Flyers 4-3 in overtime in Game 6 Wednesday night.

Chicago’s wait is over. Blackhawks win their first Stanley Cup since 1961, ending a 49-year drought on the ice, the longest active championship drought in the NHL.

Patrick Kane scored the winning goal 4:10 into overtime, and the Blackhawks became the first team to win on the road this series.

The Blackhawks completed their revival from the bottom of the NHL to holding the silver trophy on the strength of rising stars Kane and Jonathan Toews.

Annti Niemi was solid in goal to help the Blackhawks wrap up their most successful season since Bobby Hull and Stan Mikita led the way 49 years ago.

For history, Annti Niemi became the first Finnish goalie to win the Stanley Cup.

“I’m happier than I have ever been,” Niemi told “I never saw this coming. I think we have an unbelievable team. Our guys did a great job coming back.”

The Flyers are still looking for their first Stanley Cup title since 1975.

(Photo by AP Photo/Matt Slocum)

Leave a Reply