2011 CONCACAF Gold Cup Semifinals: Honduras vs Mexico | Mexico wins 2-0, ET

2011 Concacaf Gold Cup LogoWatch Honduras vs Mexico Live Video stream – CONCACAF 2011 Gold Cup Semifinals June 22, 2011

Honduras and Mexico will face each other on Wednesday June 22, 2011 for the CONCACAF 2011 Gold Cup semifinals match-up at the Reliant Stadium in Houston, Texas, United States. The match kicks-off at time 10:00 PM EST / 2:00 GMT.

Mexico and Honduras will meet in the last four of the Gold Cup after knocking off Guatemala and Costa Rica in their respective quarter-finals.

Honduras needed penalties to take the honours in the early game in New Jersey after their 1-1 draw with Costa Rica, with Jerry Bengston’s third goal of the tournament cancelled out by Dennis Marshall’s header. Carlos Costly, Victor Bernardez, Wilson Palacios and Bengston all converted in the shootout, while Celso Borges and Saborio saw theirs hit the woodwork.

Defending champions Mexico took a slightly easier route into the semi-finals, with a 2-1 victory over Guatemala. Guatemala took a surprise lead through Carlos Ruiz in the fifth minute but Aldo De Nigris equalised three minutes into the second half and Manchester United striker Javier Hernandez claimed the winner after 66 minutes.

Match: Honduras vs Mexico CONCACAF Gold Cup 2011 Semifinals
Date: June 22, 2011 (Wednesday)
Venue: Reliant Stadium, Houston, Texas
Time: 10:00 p.m. ET, 2:00 GMT

The winner of Honduras-Mexico semifinals match will face United States after beating Panama 1-0 earlier, for the Finals on Saturday.

UPDATE: Mexico beats Honduras 2-0 in Extra time and advances to the Gold Cup Finals for the 7th time.

(Source: ESPN) Aldo de Nigris and Javier Hernandez scored off corner kicks early in overtime and Mexico defeated Honduras 2-0 in the Gold Cup semifinals on Wednesday to set up a championship rematch with the United States.

The U.S. and Mexico have played in the last two Gold Cup finals and will meet again on Saturday at the Rose Bowl. The Americans advanced with a 1-0 win over Panama earlier Wednesday.

Mexico and the U.S. have won nine of the 10 Gold Cups contested since the biennial tournament took its current form in 1991. The United States beat El Tri 2-1 in 2007, and Mexico won 5-0 in the 2009 final.

Mexico has outscored its five Gold Cup opponents by an aggregate score of 18-2. El Tri is also undefeated in its last 11 Gold Cup games, with nine wins and two draws.

No Responses

Leave a Reply