Copa America 2011 Final: Paraguay vs Uruguay | Uruguay wins 3-0

2011 Copa America logoCopa America 2011 Final – Paraguay vs Uruguay Live Stream Online

The Copa America 2011 Final match between Paraguay and Uruguay will be played at the Estadio Monumental Antonio Vespucio Liberti in Buenos Aires, Argentina on July 24, 2011 Sunday 19:00 GMT.

The winner of this match will be the champion of the tournament and will qualify to the 2013 FIFA Confederations Cup, held in Brazil.

This year’s final marks the first time since 2001 that neither Argentina and Brazil will compete against each other for the title. Both Uruguay and Paraguay are entering the match having previously won the competition multiple times. Uruguay holds the joint record of 14 Copa América title, having last won it in 1995. Their last final appearance was in 1999, when they were defeated by Brazil.

Paraguay is a two-time winner of the competition, having last won the tournament in 1979. That year also marks the last time Paraguay made it to the final of the tournament.

Paraguay reached the final without having won or lost a game: the team tied its five matches, having the last two decided on penalty shoots.

2011 COPA America Final Preview:

Teams : Paraguay vs Uruguay
Date:  Sunday, July 24, 2011
Kick off time:  19:00 GMT / 16:00 ART
Venue: Estadio Monumental Antonio Vespucio Liberti, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Referee: Salvio Fagundes (Brazil)

So, don’t forget to Watch Paraguay vs Uruguay live stream online on Sunday at 16:00 Argentina Time. It will also be shown on Sky Sports in United Kingdom. Watch out for it at game time.

UPDATE: Uruguay defeated Paraguay 3-0 to capture COPA America 2011 for their record 15th Copa America title.

(Via ESPN) – Diego Forlan scored twice and Uruguay won the Copa America for a record 15th time after beating Paraguay 3-0 Sunday.

Luis Suarez also scored for Uruguay, which followed up a fourth-place finish at the 2010 World Cup by winning South America’s championship for the first time since 1995.

Argentina and Brazil were upset in the quarterfinals of this tournament. Uruguay ousted Argentina on penalties and Paraguay eliminated Brazil, also in a shootout.

Argentina has won the title 14 times, Brazil eight. Brazil had won four of the past five titles.

Leave a Reply